Monday, October 6, 2014

REVIEW... Once Perfect by Cecy Robson

GOODREADS BOOK BLURB: 

His life was never easy. Hers wasn’t supposed to be this hard. They come from different worlds, but fate lures them together in a way neither expected in Cecy Robson’s raw, steamy New Adult debut—perfect for fans of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn.

Evelyn Preston’s future once looked perfect—until her wealthy father was caught in an embezzlement scandal and took his own life. Alone and struggling to pay her college tuition and bills, Evelyn finds a job as a waitress at the ultra-hip nightclub Excess, where she used to have more in common with the privileged private-school clientele than her fellow staff members. But something attracts her to the sexy six-foot-four bouncer and underground MMA fighter Mateo Tres Santos. Although they’ve led different lives, their troubled pasts bonds them in both survival and love.

Mateo is ex-army who wound up in prison for assaulting the man who harmed his sister. Now he’s feeling the same protective impulse for this petite blond waitress. When Evelyn experiences a panic attack at the club, Mateo comes to her rescue. And when Mateo is wounded shielding her from a brawl, Evelyn returns the favor and comes to his aid.

As their attraction intensifies, Mateo is determined to find out what nightmares are lurking in Evelyn’s past—even if that means tackling his own to save her.


Once Perfect - Goodreads

**I received this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review**

This Book Nerd Says: 
I was very intrigued by the premise of the book and so when I received an ARC copy I was more than thrilled to spend a rainy day reading this. 
Evelyn Preston was the former girl who had it all: wealth, status, the perfect boyfriend. Until the day she lost it all and everyone else turned their backs on her. Instead of attending nightclubs, now she is working at one while she works to put herself through school. This is the same nightclub that employs Mateo Tres Santos, the bouncer that comes to Evelyn's rescue saving her from a dark closet that cripples her into a panic attack. 
Mateo is ex-army and ex-con, but still full on sexy and protective of the women in his life that he holds dear. Evelyn learns quickly that she can't judge him by his tattoos or his past and once she gets a glimpse of the real Mateo, she seems certain that she doesn't want to go back to a life without him. 
Both are pulled together despite the cultural differences (his strict Latino background and culture) that sometimes seem to try and draw them apart. The differences between them are apparent but the similarities is what keeps you turning the page. As the reader we know something has gone on in Evelyn's past, something she can't fully remember, and when it all comes to light I honestly was a bit surprised because I didn't see it developing quite like that. 
As for the story as a whole... I liked it, but I didn't LOVE it. 
I loved that Mateo while this huge alpha character, was the definition of the patient and respectful guy. The fact that you walk away wanting him to be your big brother or your sexy as all get out boyfriend (i'm sure the boyfriend vote will win by a landslide), is just flat out endearing. He was probably the best part of the whole story for me honestly. But the ending felt a little rushed. I felt like it was ending the story of Evelyn and Mateo and setting us up for the next book (about either Killian and Sofia or Brody and Lety) but that we didn't get all the 'cherry on top' that I was hoping/waiting for.  
I would like to check out the next books to get a glimpse of Teo's sisters and the men they love, maybe we'd get a glimpse on the Evelyn/Teo story again as well. 

I'm giving this book 3.5 Stars

Available Tomorrow 10/7/14

Buy Once Perfect HERE (Amazon)
Buy Once Perfect HERE (Barnes & Noble)


HAPPY READING!!

No comments:

Post a Comment